top of page

Production Process #4

For this stage of the production process, I looked to complete what I plan to use as the first stage of the documentary.

In order to set the scene, I want to emphasize how important grassroots football is for many individuals, who hold unique stories, and face different personal challenges in upholding tasks.

A good case study that I wanted to use was where I have experienced grassroots football, and my local little league, West Sutton Little league, was perfect for this.

Approximately 650 children play here on a weekly basis, and each child is admitted for a season for very reasonable prices. Speaking from my personal experiences, I had great fun playing football here, and I know many others in my local area did also, with the league producing players who have gone onto establish careers in football.

I wanted to know the effort that goes on behind the scenes, so I visited and I was able to interview two league secretaries, who gave me a good insight into what efforts they have to make, and what cases they have heard of in the league where workers have had to commit themselves greatly to roles, despite each of them being volunteers.

This rounds off the interviews that I feel are required for the opening stage of the documentary, with Leo Cabaleira from Bournemouth Poppies FC showing sacrifices made for the adult grassroots game, and with the two little league secretaries giving an insight into the children's grassroots side of things.

The second stage of the documentary will look to debate the future of grassroots football, and whether it is in a critical condition. Speaking to Jon Nurse and Jack Pitt-Brooke, two senior experts in the field, who have given differing views, I feel this makes for an interesting discussion in the second phase, and whether a final interviewee is required depends on how much I feel it would disrupt the balance of it.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page