top of page

Production Process

As the editing comes towards the closing stages, there are certain issues that have been addressed.

A particular one has been trying to find balance in the piece, with criticisms being made of a percieved lack of government funding, but with several governmental figures involved with sport not accepting my interview enquiry, I have looked to find balance through other means.

With Jon Nurse offering a differing perspective on grassroots football to journalist Jack Pitt-Brooke, I felt allowing them to debate whether the funding is there for grassroots clubs, which Jon feels initiatives such as Grow the Game have allowed for extra funding.

Despite this, I have recieved an email just today from an employee of the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, offering his services for an interview. The interview would take place tommorow, which is just a day before the deadline, and this has complicated things slightly, as I am unsure whether I would be able to edit the piece to an extent that a new angle is included within a day.

I am happy with the piece currently, as I feel looking into how the England youth set up is flourishing is an interesting talking point when it comes to grassroots football, as debate over whether facilities are available and good enough for grassroots clubs seems to rise each time the England national team struggles. The national team set up is almost an indicator for many as to what sort of condition grassroots football is in within England.

Adjusting the levels of the audio has been fairly straightforward, with each of the interviews either being recorded in good quality over phone, or in person. However, one interview with Leo Cabeleira of Bournemouth Poppies has proven to be slightly problematic, as during the interview I was holding the microphone in a poor position.

This has allowed for a lot of wind being audible, as well as traffic from a nearby road being involved also. However, using the noise reduction effect on Adobe Audition has been able to clear a reasonable amount of the background sound.

Overall I feel the additional interview is dependent on the convenience of it. If I am able to speak to the individual quickly and early on in the day, I may be able to include a short governmental perspective on the issue. Regardless of this, I am still confident that I have achieved a good balance with counter acting views from an established journalist in the field, and an FA Football Development Officer.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page